Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lavindia Jewell

Lavindia Jewell

This week we have a special lady that brings a few cool things to Second Life.  Lavindia Jewell shares with us her own unique style in the form of the cool venue Gas Monkey Garage, Wrench Monkey Photography, and her blog “So Let It Be Written”.  Wipe that axel grease off your face, or leave it, and hit the dance ball as Lavi shares with us about her endeavors in Second Life!

Lavi

Lavi

Tell us some about yourself, Lavi …
Well hmmm lets see where to start. *wonders if there is a word limit* Lavindia is a pretty free spirited thing who enjoys just about everything. I’ve tried pretty much everything there is to try in SL. Well except being a furry. I never much wanted to try being a furry. However my time in SL is not over yet! I’ve settled down in one of my favorite roles of mass multitasking maniac. But you can call me MmM for short. At the moment I spend my time shopping for cute looks for my blog – So Let It Be Written. I’m also trying my hand at SL photography with my little photo studio – Monkey Wrench Photography. But my great joy is owning and operating my new baby … Gas Monkey Garage. Its a great hangout with Live Music Events or what I like to call Wednesday Jam Session.

GasMonkeyGarage_0006

Gas Monkey Garage venue

You have a pretty cool venue! What can you tell us about Gas Monkey Garage?
Gas Monkey Garage is a muscle car garage with a little something extra. My hope is that people will come to the the Garage and fall in love with the “vibe”. Find in it a perfect place to come to relax, hangout with old friends and new, or just wander around and take some cool pictures of themselves. The little extra is the DJ events and the live artists concerts which I absolutely love. When the stage was made at the back of the garage I instantly saw some of my favorite live artists up there singing. Its been magic seeing my wishes come to life.

What inspired Gas Monkey Garage, Lavi?
Well I’ve always wanted to have a “club”. I say that loosely because clubs can be so much work. I don’t want to spend my whole time in SL working, of course. So I guess what I’ve always really wanted was a hangout that encourages spontaneous parties. The idea of having a garage was actually a dream of a friend of mine. We pooled our thoughts and combined our ideas and next thing I knew I saw my secret desire come to life before my very mesh eyeballs.

gasmonkeylogo

Gas Monkey logo

Where did the name “Gas Monkey Garage” come from?
For one thing… I love Monkeys. I know its a strange fixation. So when the project started and we were throwing out names for the land and the garage all my ideas contained “Monkey”. I wanted to name the garage Grease Monkey Garage. But my friend, helping me with the build, suggested Gas Monkey Garage. So that stuck. I compromise amazingly well. I just made the title for everyone that joins “Grease Monkey”. Then you see… I’ve still kinda gotten my way. *chuckles* My friend was a fan of Fast and Loud the reality TV program about the original Gas Monkey Garage located in Texas. However we are not affiliated in any way.

gasmonkeypromosept25

Performers

Do you host live music events at Gas Monkey?
I do. Every week on Wednesdays. I like to call them Wednesday Jam Sessions. Again I wanted the feel and the sound to be like … ah work is done … the grease has been cleaned off the floor … lets have a bunch of buddies over and rock out. Or dudes … let me show you this new song I just wrote and pick up the guitar and sing it to the amazed group of friends.

Who are some of the folks that perform regularly at Gas Monkey?
I have so many that take my stage on a regular basis. But when I started there were 2 names that I placed on the top of my list as must haves. The scene just cried out for them. Well I felt that but I’m one of those crazed fans. TwinGhost Ronas and JukeBox Diesel were the first artists that I thought of when my stage was built. I’ve been lucky enough to have had that dream come true! TwinGhost still plays biweekly Wednesday nights at 6pm. The first artist to rock my stage was Rara Destiny. I absolutely love Rara and would have her every week if I could some how find a way to get Australian time and Louisiana Time to be more friendly to each other. When I started wanting to add more and more live music to my Wednesday nights. I talked to another friend and told him how much I valued and wanted to highlight independent and live music artist who offered a little something new and different. I was pointed to Jordan Reyne. LOVE Jordan. Her sounds are amazing. I think at her first concert I stood around with my mouth hanging open. I think everything started falling in place after that. I was approached and approached more artists and have found some phenomenal talent. Dragonfly plays on the opposite Wednesday nights at 6pm. His music never fails to move me. My closet full of “I’m the Number 1 fan” T-Shirts is getting so full I have to throw myself at it to keep it closed. I could write in this box for hours about all the fabulous artists that have taken my stage over the past 2 months. There hasn’t been any that I’ve regretted having and want to have them all back as much as possible. Pete Mroz what can I say … if you’ve heard him you know his voice leaves you breathless. [engrama] amazing live rock band. Moon Spark another amazing artist. The list goes on and on. 

DJ Andreino

DJ Andreino

Do you have a any regular DJ’s that you work with?
I’ve just started coaxing some DJs to the garage. I’m hoping having some various music playing may open up the garage to more people out there looking for a place to come and hang. DJ Mikel Shilova has started coming on Tuesday nights from 6-8. DJ Andreino took up the stream Thursday night and wowed us from 4-6 and well past. A mixing machine that man. I’m slowly adding more DJs to my board. Again my idea is that DJs with a want…. will come and use my garage as a kinda impromptu spot to host their own events and get more people around that might need the extra push to peel away from their usual haunts.

Gas Monkey Garage blog

Gas Monkey Garage blog

Gas Monkey has a blog that you maintain, what can we find there, Lavi?
I started the Gas Monkey Garage in SL blog so that I can keep people who might spend more time blog browsing than spot hopping can stay informed with the upcoming events and happenings at the garage. I have my calendar of events on a tab there and I try to post samples of live artist who will be performing. Let people get a taste and leave them wanting more. When I’m not so busy with doing everything needed during the live shows. I take some sneaky pics of the singers in action. I’ll be posting those as well.

Gas Monkey t-shirt

Gas Monkey t-shirt

Folks that visit Gas Monkey Garage will find a free gift, can you tell us what this is?
Jayson (jaysondaaussie) owner of Velocity Inc donated these great mesh T-shirts with the gas monkey logo on them. They are amazingly well done. I have them placed in a gift giver at the front of the stage. I’d love to see a bunch of people wandering aimlessly around in their gas monkey t-shirt. How great would that be. Minions!

In Gas Monkey Garage, there’s many interesting items ranging from orange bottles of 2nd Orange hand cleaner, to motorcycles, cars, and a Greedy table. What would you say is the most interesting item?
Well KJ one of the chief designers and decorators of the garage placed a box out with bloody women in it. I’m not sure if this is a box of warning or not. But since the women in the box seem to be blond headed I haven’t let it worry me up too much. LOL. But most things in the garage are interactive. Sitting on the boxes seems to be a crowd pleaser.

Semi meets golf cart

Semi meets golf cart

Outside, we’ll find a semi-truck overturned on the road. Were your driving?
Now MJ have you been spying on me?  I am a hopeless driver in SL. Those who ride with me are never the same again. The semi-truck simply happened to be on the wrong rode when I was taking my golf cart on a souped up joy ride. He never saw my hot pink cart coming. *winks*

 

Monkey Wrench Photography

Monkey Wrench Photography

You have photography business in Second Life too, tell us about your background in photography …
I am probably the most inexperienced photographer out there. I started my fashion blog with NOOO experience in photo editing. I learned alot from a dear dear dear friend emptysea Korolev who is no longer playing SL but is still out there in the Real world amazing people with his photographic skills. He sweated and moaned and groaned and tried to teach me how to use Photoshop but it was all in vain. I just can’t Photoshop. I can however edit the heck out of stuff with PICMONKEY! You knew it would have something to do with monkeys didn’t ya. I love taking pictures. Mostly of myself. To put on my fashion blog and my flickr. I’ve been known to just randomly find a face in a crowd and sauce up a picture for them. I enjoy it. People have said that my pictures have a “feeling” to them a mood. And I take that as high praise.

Where can we find samples of your work, Lavi?
You can read my blog or just look at the pictures on my blog at http://lavindia.wordpress.com/ or you can flick over to my flickr and take a look around … http://www.flickr.com/photos/40651731@N04/.

Rose

Rose

One of your photos, is named ‘Rose’. What story does this tell?
Its a two part story really. My best friend in all of SL is Ty Kyger – Tyger as he is lovingly known, has started making poses. He named his first set after me. *smile* It was such an amazing gift. I used these poses to do my post “Rose”. The actual Rose wasn’t part of the poses but it fit so nicely. The rose was another gift from a different friend. I know its just a prim rose but romantic gestures from men in both worlds sometimes don’t come as often as they need to. The gift of that rose really came at a good time for me and it touched me greatly.

1920's

1920’s

In your collection of photos, is one titled 1920. Tell us about this, Lavi …
Wow, MJ.  Ok that photo was taken at the very start of the garage/ photo studio venture. When the love was new and the dreams were fresh. We wanted to do a Bonnie and Clyde like photo and thats what we ended up with. I was very pleased with the outcome. The one where my eyes were closed was a sheer accident but I think it was the best one. Gave a real feel that we were backed against the car .. trapped in an alley and it was the end. But Clyde was going to go out protecting Bonnie and she was just relishing the last moments of it.

WordPress is home to your blog, http://lavindia.wordpress.com. Tell us some about your blog, Lavi? 
I started my blog back in March 2010. I don’t blog for stores or request added to blog rolls much because I’m a little bit lazy as a blogger. I try to do 2 blog posts a week but some weeks it might just be 1. I blog outfits that I create from shopping events or just out of my inventory and I like to show them off. The idea of my blog is when I make an outfit I ask myself how its making me feel or what point I want to make. Then I find a quote by someone that fits. I try to give my little two cents on how I’m feeling about that quote and the mood in general and show off my outfit. I picked the title ‘So Let It Be Written’ because that is one of my favorite movie quotes.

Lavi

Lavi

Do you maintain a flickr account with your photos?
I do have a flickr but I’m not too good at updating it. I’ve been trying harder lately. I still haven’t gotten down the skill of adding my pics to various groups but I’ll figure it out. Eventually. *winks* 

How can we get in touch with you, Lavi?
In world … I’m Lavindia Jewell. You can IM me or notecard me.  Email is good too – lavindiajewell@gmail.com. You can even like me on Facebook and Gas Monkey Garage 🙂  I’m usually somewhere around the garage … I’m not hard to find.

Thank you so much for your time and letting us get to know the lady behind Gas Monkey Garage, Monkey Wrench Photography, and your blog! 🙂
Thank you for taking the time to get to know me MJ. xo 

Gas Monkey Garage

Gas Monkey Garage

